Malaysian Azlan Shah Kamaruzaman was denied the opportunity to deny Australian former superbike Glen Allerton winning for the opening round of the Malaysian Super Series at Sepang Circuit today after the second and final race was cut short by rain, giving him only half points for victory.

Second in the opening race, Azlan – the two-time Supersports champion, was only awarded 12.5 points for his win in Race 2 with Allerton getting 10 points and taking the Australian total haul for the round to 35 points against Azlan’s 32.5 points.

“It’s unfortunate that the race had to be cut short because of the rain. I was leading the race and was going all out for the win which could have given me the honour of winning the round and share of the overall standings,” said Azlan, who started from second on the grid, but shot past Allerton on Lap 3.

Unfortunately for the Honda rider, race officials decided to call for the red flag to stop the race on Lap 6 after it started to drizzle and later decided for only half points to be awarded for the race.

Commenting on his win, Allerton, who rides for Team Looi Motor Singapore and riding a BMW S1000RR said that he was happy with the win and that it was a good decision to stop the race in view of safety for the riders.

“It was getting slippery and I had to be very cautious in my approach to keep pace with Azlan,” said the Australian, who was making his debut in the series.

In the Superstock championship, defending champion Ahmad Zamani Baharuddin cruised to a double victory after his closest rival Remon Azrem Abdul Karim was forced to retire from the opening race after his BMW S1000RR machine blew his engine in the final lap.

The Team BMW Two Wheel Garage rider was leading the race when his engine blew as his BMW was blazing past the main straight as his team crew saw in horror as a trail of white smoke jetted out from the bike infront of their eyes.

The Supersports Championship was topped by Malaysia’s Moto2 wildcard rider Muhammad Zamri Baba, who scored a double victory for the opening round despite a gallant effort by youngster Hafizh Syahrin Abdullah to deny his more experienced rival.

“At both races, I allowed Hafizh to lead; and I waited until the final lap to overtake and took over the leadership … I just want to test his toughness and his mental strength. Clearly, he has improved a lot and getting better,” said Zamri of the former cub prix champion, who is now competing in the 600cc class in Australia and the Asia Road Racing Championship.

Round 2 for the MSS bike competitions will be held on July 2 and 3.

Top Five Finishers
Sepang Circuit – 5.543km

Race 1 (10 laps)
1.Glen Allerton (BMW S1000RR) 22:18.986s
2. Azlan Shah Kamaruzaman (Honda CBR1000) 22:29.635s
3. Abdul Rahim Sidek (Kawasaki ZX10R) 23:06.368s
4. Mohamad Syahnas Shahidan (MV Agusta) 23:09.919s
5. Luca Cassoni (Honda CBR1000) 23:35.853s

Race 2 (5 laps – red flagged on Lap 6)
1. Azlan Shah Kamaruzaman (Honda CBR1000) 11:17.439s
2. Glen Allerton (BMW S1000RR) 11:17.699s
3. Mohamad Syahnas Shahidan (MV Agusta) 11:30.217s
4. Abdul Rahim Sidek (Kawasaki ZX10R) 11:30.376s
5. Eric Chia (Honda CBR1000) 11:44.876s

Race 1 (10 laps)
1.Ahmad Zamani Baharuddin (Kawasaki ZX10R) 22:48.986s
2. Ahmad Faez Yahya (Honda CBR1000) 23:13.719s
3. Nasaruddin Haji Mat Yusof (Honda CBR1000) 23:34.188ss
4. Lee Ching Hooi (Honda CBR1000) 25:30.691s
5. Mark Lim (MV Agusta) 2 laps behind

Race 2 (5 laps – race red-flagged on Lap 6)
1.Ahmad Zamani Baharuddin (Kawasaki ZX10R) 11:40.439s
2. Ahmad Faez Yahya (Honda CBR1000) 11:44.315s
3. Lee Ching Hooi (Honda CBR1000) 11:52.304s
4. Nasaruddin Haji Mat Yusof (Honda CBR1000) 12:00.243s
5. Mark Lim (MV Agusta) 4:42.294s (3 laps behind)

Race 1 (10 laps)
1.Muhammad Zamri Baba (Yamaha R6) 22:24.172s
2. Hafizh Syahrin Abdullah (Yamaha R6) 22:25.206s
3. Ahmad Fuad Baharuddin (Kawasaki ZX6R) 22:47.095s
4. Charanjit Singh (Yamaha R6) 1 lap behind

Race 2 (10 laps)
1.Muhammad Zamri Baba (Yamaha R6) 22:32.711s
2. Hafizh Syahrin Abdullah (Yamaha R6) 22:32.14.381s
3. Ahmad Fuad Baharuddin (Kawasaki ZX6R) 22:46.178s
4. Mohd Iskandar Raduan (Yamaha R6) 23:08.593s
5. Charanjit Singh (Yamaha R6) 22:38.323 (9 laps)


Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on's media platforms. Learn more.