The fourth instalment of the Perodua Eco-Challenge is back with all the 13 institutions of higher learning that took part in the 2011 event competing again for honours this year.

The hottest race among the participating institutions of higher learning in Malaysia will be held at the Melaka International Motorsport Circuit, Ayer Keroh Melaka on 15 July 2012, just as it was held there last year.

This year, the participating teams have to improve on their last year’s race vehicle based on the buggy concept built using a ViVA 660cc engine given last year. Perodua will provide RM10,000 to each team to modify and improve on their last year’s race vehicle.

In addition, Perodua has cranked up this year’s competition by adding 2 new categories – Time Attack and Overall Champion – in addition to the Design and Engineering and Longest Distance categories as in the previous years’ races.

And to add further excitement to the event, Perodua will also extend an invitation to the Business, Commerce or Management faculties of the participating institutions to compete by submitting their marketing, promotional and business plan for their team’s race vehicle. Perodua will provide each team RM5,000 for the marketing and promotional activities within their campus area. A panel of well known judges from the industry will select the winners based on the team’s presentation.

The total prize money for this year’s race has also been increased to RM103,000 from RM77,000 last year to cater for the 2 new categories.

For the overall category, the champion will take home RM25,000. The winner of the 2 categories – Design and Engineering and Longest Distance – will drive away with RM10,000 each, 1st runner up RM8,000 each and 2nd runner up RM5,000 each. Teams placed 4th and 5th in the longest distance category will receive RM1,000 each.

For Time Attack and marketing, promotional and business plan category, the champion will receive RM7,000, 1st runner up RM5,000 and 2nd runner up RM3,000.

The participating teams are defending champions Politeknik Ungku Omar (winner of longest distance), Universiti Tekonologi Malaysia (winner of engineering category) and Universiti Malaysia Pahang ( winner of design and participation category).

The others are Universiti Sains Malaysia, Universiti Kuala Lumpur – Malaysia Spanish Institute, Politeknik Sultan Azlan Shah, Universiti Teknologi Mara, Universiti Teknologi Petronas, Universiti Tenaga Nasional and Universiti Industri Selangor.

Also taking part are Politeknik Port Dickson, Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia and Universiti Teknikal Malaysia Melaka.


Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on's media platforms. Learn more.