Team Petronas Syntium’s partnership of Nobuteru Taniguchi, Masataka Yanagida and Dominic Ang proved fruitful when it emerged victorious in the latest edition of the Malaysia Merdeka Endurance Race (MMER). The win will surely go into the books of history as it was their third win of the 12-hour endurance race after the 2009 and 2011 edition.

The team also bagged their second 1-2 finish (the first in 2009) after its second car – piloted by Fariqe Haruman, Melvin Moh and Tetsuya Kataoka secured second place overall and in the GT class. Meanwhile, Darryl o’ Young, Keita Sawa and Siu Yuk Loong of LKM Racing took third place.

In the Sports Production class, Fahrizal Hassan, Adrial d’Silva and Daniel Bilksi of Nexus Racing bettered their last year’s overall record of 277 laps by finishing the race in the sixth position with 283 laps thus reclaiming the title in the class.

Meanwhile, Malaysia’s very own trio of Boy Weng Yew Chong , Soh Kee Koon and Lai Weng Sing upset last year’s winners – ST Powered Racing Team from Singapore; who had to retire after 213 laps to claim their impressive record of second win in three years in the Touring Production class. Second place went to Australian-based James Hunter, Gavin Bullas and Grant Johnson who clocked 267 laps and third place went to Akira Akida, Takeshi Tsuchiya and Morio Nitta in their unprecedented Toyota 86.

Flagged off by Malaysian Moto3 rider, Muhammad Zulfahmi Khairuddin and accompanied by SIC Chairman Datuk Mokhzani Tun Mahathir, this year’s event saw a competitive  entry of 30 cars – six in the GT class, five in the Sports Production and 19 in the Touring Production class which at the end saw a total of five cars failed to survive the formidable challenge of MMER.



Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on's media platforms. Learn more.