Shell Advance Asia Talent Cup 2014 - 1

22 young riders from 7 countries around the Asian region have been chosen out of 108 pre-selected hopefuls to compete on the Honda NSR250R bikes in the inaugural Shell Advance Asia Talent Cup next year. The selection took place recently at the Sepang kart circuit with the riders displaying their talents on a 125cc Honda Future ‘underbone’ bikes.

Shell Advance Asia Talent Cup - 1

“We had riders from many countries and it was great to see. They all improved their times heat after heat, it was a good selection process and we are happy. It’s never easy to select riders, there’s no science for this, it’s just your perception of the situation after doing this for many years now. So I based the decisions on my intuition as well as on the lap times. If the lap times are also on the same level as your thoughts, then you have the perfect combination.” said Shell Advance Asia Talent Cup talent scout Alberto Puig.

As a feeder series to the world of international motorcycle racing, showcasing Asian riding talent, the cup next year will see six races staged across six countries in the region: Japan, Malaysia and Qatar, in front of the MotoGP crowd; A race in India, alongside the World Superbike Championship (WSBK); and a round in Indonesia and China.

“First of all, I want to congratulate the 22 riders who will ride with us in 2014 – throughout this process they’ve continually demonstrated that they are the most talented riders in the region and highly deserving of this chance. I also want to thank all our applicants for their interests in this exciting new competition.” said Shell Lubricants Marketing Consumer Brands and Product General Manager Andrew Hepher.

The selected 22 riders are:


  • Yuanhang Chen (17 yrs)


  • Wilman Hammar (16 yrs)
  • Andi Muhammad Fadly (13 yrs)
  • Basyiruddin Samhan Mashuri (15 yrs)


  • Tsubasa Yoshida (13 yrs)
  • Kaito Sekino (15 yrs)
  • Yuta Date (14 yrs)
  • Ryo Mizuno (15 yrs)
  • Tsurugi Kitami (17 yrs)
  • Ayumu Sasaki (13 yrs)
  • Kaito Toba (13 yrs)


  • Nakarin Atiratphuvapat (17 yrs)
  • Somkiat Chantra (14 yrs)
  • Muklada Sarapuech (19 yrs)


  • Nazirul Izzat Bin Muhammad Bahauddin (13 yrs)
  • Muhammad Shafiq Bin Rasol (16 yrs)
  • Muhamad Adam Bin Mohd Norrodin (15 yrs)
  • Muhammad Helmi Bin Azman (13 yrs)
  • Fakhrusy Syakirin Bin Rostam (17 yrs)
  • Mohammad Shafiq Ezzariq (13 yrs)


  • Ralph Kenneth Torres (14 yrs)


  • Azhar Bin Mohd Noor (16 yrs)


  • INDONESIA: Muhammad Taufiq Hidayat (16 yrs)
  • JAPAN: Shota Nakayama (17 yrs)
  • MALAYSIA: Muhammad Ibrahim Bin Mohd Norrodin (13 yrs)



Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on's media platforms. Learn more.