BMW i8 - International Engine of the Year 2015 Awards - File photo

Taking the 1.4- to 1.8-litre category title as well, BMW, with its 1.5-litre hybrid in the i8, has been awarded the overall winner of the International Engine of the Year 2015 recently.

Ford Fiesta 1.0L EcoBoost - April 2014

Ford’s three-time-in-a-row winner 1.0-litre Ecoboost took second spot just seven points behind. However, it did take the sub 1-litre title.

BMW i8 Launch 01

The 1.0- to 1.4-litre category sees Peugeot Citroen’s 1.2-litre 3-cylinder turbocharged petrol taking the title, while the i8 took the 1.4- to 1.8-litre, as mentioned earlier.

Mercedes-Benz GLA45 AMG Press 06

Mercedes-Benz took the 1.8- to 2.0-litre title with its 2.0-liter turbo motor of the A45 AMG, and Audi took the 2.0– to 2.5-liter prize with its 2.5-liter engine.

BMW M3 M4 Launch - 3

The 2.5– to 3.0-liter categorgy was won by the BMW M3 and M4’s 3.0-liter engine, while McLaren’s 3.8-liter twin-turbo V8 won 3.0– to 4.0-liter title.

Ferrari 458 Speciale Launch 021

Finally, the 4.0-litre and above category was taken by Ferrari with its 4.5-liter V8 engine from the 458 Italia and 458 Speciale.



Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, photo & other personal information you make public on Facebook will appear with your comment, and may be used on's media platforms. Learn more.